By: Elyse McMaster

Fidgets have taken over schools all across the country. Fidgets, such as fidget cubes and the all popular fidget spinner, were created to allow people with ADHD, autism, anxiety, and stress a way to relieve excess energy and keep their hands busy during school, meetings, etc. Many kids have gotten them who don’t officially need them and some schools have experienced problems with them and prohibit students from bringing them. At Liberty Center they are still allowed in the school but some teachers have banned the spinners, including Mrs. Chamberlain. It has met mixed reactions among teachers.

Ms. Mericle- I’ve never seen those… wait, you guys have them in class? I never even notice it.

Mr. Miller- I don’t know a lot about it as long as kids keep them in their hands and aren’t throwing them or hitting other students with them or anything I don’t have a problem with them.

Mr. H- If they are used properly, I can see how they can help some people, but most kids don’t use them properly. They spin them a thousand miles an hour, on desks so it actually makes a lot of noise, which ends up distracting three or four students around them.

Mr. Ressler- I haven’t seen anything that would make me think they are benefical, they are more of a distraction than anything.

Mrs. Rozevink- They are a horrible distraction, let me put it that way. I don’t mind kids having them out walking down the hallway, under their desks, whatever, but to have them out in plain sight just really irritates me.

Mrs. Panning- It depends on the person. Sometimes they work for students who have problems paying attention but they are drawing the attention of their neighbors in the classroom.

Mrs. Sharp- If I were teaching right now, I would not allow them in my classroom.

Mrs. Masuwa- I do not care for the fidget toys in my classroom because like 85 percent have them and like 5 percent need them.

The apparent moral of this story is that if the students need them and have them out of sight, quiet, and are paying attention, they are okay. Most of the teachers, however, seem to think them as toys to distract students and those around.

